WILW ED #24

Good morning guys! I hope your Wednesday is off to a cracking start and that your week is flowing by easily.

WILW ED #24

Reading: Salem Falls (Jodi Picoult)

After reviving my Kindle device in preparation for my trip to Canada, I found this book on there and started reading. Although I am an avid reader, I don’t believe I have ever read a Jodi Picoult book and so far I am really enjoying the intrigue and interwoven nature of the plot.

Listening to: Where’s the Love (Trevor Hall)

I found this song today whilst listening (and flowing) to a beautiful Power playlist by Yoga Girl. The lyrics are simply stunning and so powerful. I get the feeling it will be a favourite pretty soon.

Watching: The Rio 2016 Olympics

Although the time conversions mean I haven’t watched anything live, I have been thoroughly enjoying watching the world’s best sports people battle it out in Rio. As an ex-diver, diving is undoubtedly my favourite, but I will pretty much watch and be awe-inspired by any sport.

Quoting:

I found this stunning piece of street art in Richmond a few weeks ago. Enough said. Don’t ever forget it!

Eating: Choc Jaffa Bliss Balls

After a lovely essential oils session with Alice from The Whole Daily, I was lucky enough to go home with a bottle of doTerra Wild Orange oil. I promptly used this magical oil to make some Choc Orange “Jaffa” bliss balls, which comprised of blending almonds, soaked dates, cacao powder and a few drops of the oil. I then rolled them in coconut flour and voila! The results are pictured below…IMG_9047

Pondering: possessions

After taking all of my “stuff” home over the weekend, I was slightly taken aback by just how much stuff I have. We do, of course, live in a society that one could argue is plagued by materialism. I don’t necessarily believe that all stuff is evil and that ridding one’s self of possessions is the key to happiness. Rather, like many things, moderation is key. I certainly know that I feel so much better after I have shed some of my possessions during a spring clean of some sort. As I grow up I also find myself more able to purchase new things mindfully and be a little more honest about what I actually “need” to buy, as opposed to pointless things that will only be temporary.

As spring is almost upon us, I would encourage you to take stock of your personal possessions and cull things that you don’t need, want or no longer use. Be mindful of how you dispose of these things. Clothes, toiletries, shoes and other goods can be donated to charity stores. Check recycling options for other miscellaneous items.

Aiming to: get some sunshine

I am a self-confessed heliophiliac… in other words I love sunshine. Consequently, I was delighted to see the sun come out over the weekend and spent some time soaking up some Vitamin D. Vitamin D is a fat-soluble vitamin that is synthesised by our cells when they are exposed to UV light, and it is crucial for regulating a range of biochemical processes, including calcium absorption and our mood. It is for this reason and many more that safe sun exposure (no where near burning) is part of a healthy lifestyle. It is safe to say that my Vitamin D levels have been boosted over the past few days, and I am so grateful to have sunshine once again.

Grateful for: my Dad

Over the weekend I went home to celebrate my Mum’s birthday, which was lots of fun and Mum received plenty of love. I am very grateful for both my parents, but I want to take a moment to express particular gratitude to my Dad. He is amazing in his ability to give me unconditional love and support and the sagest of advice when it is needed.


How has your week been? What are you loving this week?

Love Erica x

Leave a Reply

