WILW #21

Good morning! I hope your Wednesday has got off to a good start, but if it hasn’t there is still plenty of time to change that.

Just a little good luck to anyone who may be sitting the UMAT today, I wish you all the best!

Here is what I am loving this week:

  • Reading

Textbooks

Thanks to University being back as of Monday my days of blissfully reading books that I enjoy are over. Instead replaced with 20kg anatomy textbooks to try and grasp every detail of the human anatomy and physiology. Despite their weight and often dry content, I actually do enjoy learning about all the structures in the body, where they are and how they function. It really does help me getter a better understanding of how different things affect our bodies.

 

  • Listening to

Savage Garden – Affirmation

If you are unfamiliar with this song I suggest you YouTube it right now and I expect you will soon remember the song from your earlier days. Recently, thanks to mum, I have rediscovered my love for Savage Garden and their songs. The songs are upbeat and the lyrics meaningful. I burnt the entire album onto a CD and have been listening to it on repeat for pretty much the last 2 weeks, and it is safe to say I am not getting sick of their songs anytime soon!

 

  • Quoting

Quote

This quote came up on my Instagram feed last week and it made me really stop and think. How many of us complain of being stressed after a day of work? Is that normal? Or is it that too many people are simply working for something they don’t really care about.

It is also a good reminder for anyone to check if their current job really does align with their passion/s. I know for me, all these years of studying will pay off because I aim to work in an industry that ignites my passion for helping people improve their wellbeing each and every day.

 

  • Eating

ACV cabbage

pho

I put this up with the Pho recipe this week, but if you didn’t see it here you go:

½ red cabbage, ½ cup water and ¼ cup ACV boiled in a large frying pan until the liquid has evaporated.

It sounds quite bizarre but I have become truly obsessed with this! My second batch I added ½ cup of ACV because I love the sour taste it gives to the cabbage.

Red cabbage is also a fantastic source of antioxidants, but it can sometimes be a bit hard to tolerate raw, so this is a great alternative that is also very versatile. It can be used as a side to dinner or in salads and easily incorporated into a breakfast egg dish!

 

  • Apping

Wunderlist

wunderlist

For the organised ones of you out there this app is a god sent! It allows you to make multiple categorised lists and then add items to them. However, the best part is the satisfying sound it makes when you tick an item of the list! If you always have a paper to-do list on hand I recommend you try this app and a good way to keep track of all your jobs.

 

  • Moving

Yoga

As usual I am still doing my morning yoga each day. This little ritual that I have been doing for at least 2 years now really has revolutionised my mornings. I enjoy waking up when it is still dark and stretching until the sun comes up. I find yoga a great option for morning exercise because you can alter it depending upon how you are feeling upon waking up. Especially starting back at Uni I find it even more important to do each day to keep me focused throughout the day. Even though I lose an hour of sleep, I find it way more beneficial than that hour would have ever been!

If you want to start doing yoga at home the easiest way is to begin with YouTube videos to get your head around some poses and flows. Before you know it you will be creating your own yoga sequences each morning. Just 15 minutes can make a world of difference, so challenge yourself to try it for 1 month! (you will get addicted, I promise!)

 

  • Aiming to

Stay organised!

I have big plans for this semester, both at uni and also in my personal life. Majority of these goals and ideas require organisation so I do not get snowed under with homework or other little tasks I need to do. I am aiming to get ahead while the term is still fresh and hopefully this will help me in the more hectic latter weeks.

  • Grateful for

My month at home

After returning from an entire month of holidays at home (Mildura) I have become even more grateful for it. The ease of my days and having time to plan travel and the future will be missed for the next 15 weeks…

But, I am so grateful for the time I got to spend with Mum and Dad, relaxing down the river and cooking family meals.

 

Have a great day!

Love,

Peta xx

Leave a Reply

