WILW #15

Good morning and happy hump day! Congratulations on reaching the middle of another winter week (if you are in Australia). This week Adelaide has definitely reminded me that we are in winter! So keep warm and enjoy my (Peta) third edition of WILW – featuring a super yummy winter warming dessert!

 

  • Reading 

Mind Body Green Articles

If you have not found yourself on the Mind Body Green Blog before I highly suggest you pop on over there soon! It was one of the first sites that began to really inspire me to make healthy changes to my lifestyle and has such a broad spectrum of articles from many amazing professionals.

Most of the articles are short, simple and easy to understand. They are also very good at offering quick tips, but beware it is so easy to lose hours reading all the articles!!

http://www.mindbodygreen.com/

 

  • Listening to

My body

I am a bit of an exercise fanatic and truly believe it is so crucial for physical and mental health. However, I also believe that listening to your body is even more important! There is no point pushing or dragging yourself through a workout when you are feeling run down, tired or sick. There is a bit of motivation and dragging required to make sure you continue your exercise regime, but it should not feel like the worst part of your day. If you find that exercise is always dreaded for you it’s time to try new forms and find one you actually enjoy! But if you exercise regularly I think it is important to take notice of how your body is feeling each and every day and adapt your movements to that. For example, just yesterday I woke up and was planning to do a workout, but my body was just not up for it so I gave it a miss. On one hand it is so important to schedule exercise to make sure it happens but on the other hand do not beat yourself up if you do not always stick 100% to the schedule. Just remember, exercise should make you feel good it should not feel like a chore!

 

  • Quoting

‘Comparison is the thief of joy’

I have always loved this quote because I think it can mean so much on so many different levels. I believe every person gets a different message from this quote. For me, this quote is a reminder to be the best version of ME and focus on improving from the person I was yesterday rather than trying to be someone else. So take a moment to tune into your own mind and discover what this quote unveils for you.

comparison-is-the-thief-of-

 

  • Eating

 

Gluten Free Apple Crumble

I got a craving for apple crumble and then 1 hour later I was eating apple crumble! I did not follow a recipe for this one… so use the ‘recipe’ below more as a guide – add more or less of the crumble ingredients as you see fit.

In a small ceramic pot/baking tin:

  • 2x organic apples diced
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • ¼ cup of water

Blend and top with:

  • 1 cup of almonds
  • 1 cup of shredded coconut
  • ¼ cup of pumpkin seeds
  • ½ cup melted organic butter
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 5 chopped dates
  • Keep adding water or melted butter until it forms a kind of sticky mix that you can put over the apples.
  • I then topped mine with extra pumpkin seeds!

Bake at 180 degrees for about 45 minutes or until golden!

Serve with natural yogurt or coconut cream.

Apple crumble

 

  • Pondering

Comparisons

Everyone does it everyday. We compare ourselves to almost everyone that enters our lives. It can even be to strangers we see on the street. But these often harsh comparisons can cause lasting impacts on our mental health without us even noticing. This links into the quote I was talking about above ‘Comparison is the thief of joy’, in that as soon as we make those snap judgments and rate ourselves against others we are extracting any possible joy from that moment. We need to realise that each one of us is on an individual journey and therefore it would be inaccurate for us to compare one another to ourselves. So if you catch yourself making these comparisons try to make a conscious effort to derail these thoughts. It might seem useless or silly to begin with but it will make lasting impressions on your brain patterns!

 

  • Moving

Kayla BBG Guide

This week I began doing some BBG workouts again as a little way to keep my body moving during exam revision week (SWOTVAC). I know personally I am so much more productive and effective in my studying if I have moved my body in the morning. These workouts are great because they only take 28 minutes and require minimal to no equipment, but still get your heart pumping!

  • Aiming to

Study, study and study!

This week is all about trying to get my head around all the revision and study that I need to do for exams. It seems a bit overwhelming at the moment but hopefully by the end of the week I will be feeling a bit more on top of it all. Many of you will probably also be tackling exam revision currently so I wish you all the best! I think the most important thing is to have a plan and prioritise the most important things.

 

  • Grateful for

Family

Although I do not live with any of my family members while I am in Adelaide, they are still the most important people in my life. I honestly do not know what I would do without them and I know I would not be where I am now without them. I do think living away makes me appreciate them all more and the times we are all together are extra special. Some say that you do not choose your family, but I don’t believe that because I don’t think I could get 3 people that understand and support me this much just by luck. We all fight with our families, but it is so, so important – especially in those moments – to remember everything they have done for you and given you!

 

I hope you have enjoyed WILW edition 15. I will be back in 2 weeks to update you again! Enjoy your Wednesday.

 

Love Peta xx

Leave a Reply

