WILW ED #9

Long time no see friends… Apologies for the lack of posts between each WILW, but somehow each Wednesday comes flying around before I have time to get pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard) on any of my other post ideas. Hopefully that will change soon so you can be updated on something other than my weekly wrap-up!

Having said that, I am really loving writing these posts and I hope greatly that you are enjoying reading them too. Without any further ado, here we go for edition number nine.


WILW ED #9

This week I am…

Reading: High Fidelity by Nick Hornby

high fidelityI am breaking all of my own rules by having three books on the go at the moment, but despite that I just started reading ‘High Fidelity’ a few days ago, courtesy of a friend who thought I might enjoy it (so far so good). I don’t have a lot to say at this point as I am only a few pages in, but it seems like an interesting contemporary take on modern male sexuality and relationships. I am also just a little bit in love with the Penguin Classics cover… I think it is a dream of mine to have the whole collection!

Listening to: Little Lover by Broadhurst

Ever since Melissa Ambrosini’s husband, Nick Broadhurst (aka Broadhurst World) released his new single Little Lover it has been on repeat on my playlist. His voice is nothing short of incredible and the song I can only describe as sexy and beautiful. I am also madly in love with the lyrics in this song and the story behind how he wrote the song – you can hear that story in his interview with Melissa here. 

Quoting:

IMG_3915

This quote relates a bit to my pondering this week (see below). I think sometimes we forget that everyone goes through ‘shit’ and everyone has their own internal battles being fought. No matter how ‘together’ someone seems, there will always be something going on. It is all a part of the ebb and flow of life. These internal struggles or battles can make people do awful things to other people, even those that they love. So when someone isn’t treating you nicely, or someone is mean to you, always remember that there is something else going on for them. It isn’t always about you, even if you trigger some response in them. Treat everyone with love, unconditional and genuine, because your love might just be what they need to help them heal. Similarly, remember that not everyone will know about the battles you are fighting and that is okay too. It’s simple, in the famous words of Ellen Degeneres “be kind to one another”.

Eating: Stewed “Prebiotic” Apples

With the coolness of autumn/winter well and truly upon us now, smoothie bowls are out and hot breakfasts have become a necessity. Stewed apples are my hot brekky of choice at the moment, as they are super quick and easy to make, delicious and of course have plenty of health benefits, due to the fact that stewed apples are a clinically-proven prebiotic.

What is a prebiotic I hear you ask? Well, basically you have the “good” and “bad” bacteria that make up your gut microbiome and they need to eat something, namely sugars. Probiotics are the capsules that you get that put the “good” bugs back into your system. Prebiotics are foods that help the good bugs grow (they feed the good bugs). A comprehensive study conducted in America I believe (I can’t seem to find the research, but I know it’s out there), showed that people who consumed their probiotic supplements on top of stewed apples had a significantly increased population of good bacteria in their guts compared to people who simply took the probiotics supplements alone. A quick Google search revealed it is a certain type of apple fibre, called pectin, that feeds these good bugs.

So these apples are tasty, warming, wholesome and are going to make your good bugs happy – sounds pretty good, right?!

To make these apples all you need to do is:
1) Cut up as many apples (preferably organic) as you like, quartered and thinly sliced.
2) Place into a saucepan, or slow cooker, with a bit of water (approx. 1/4 cup), loads of cinnamon (this helps to regulate your blood sugar response to the apples) and some sultanas if you like.
3) Stew over low heat, stirring regularly, for about 30 minutes until the apples and soft and gooey. If you are using a slow cooker this will take about 1-2 hours depending on the volume of apples.
4) Serve about 1/2 cup apples warm with 1-2 probiotic capsules cracked open over the top (unscrew the capsules and pour the white contents over your apples, or simply take the capsules before you eat the apples). You can also serve with natural/coconut yogurt, granola or any toppings you desire.

Pondering: Sonder

IMG_8610

Photo from Jason Silva (FOLLOW HIM)

After listening to his interview with Lewis Howes a few weeks back I started following Jason Silva, simply because his mind and his philosophy on life is fascinating to me. Then, in conversation with a friend I was explaining that the reason I love travelling is that it gets me thinking about the fact that all 7.7 billion people on this planet have a story as complicated and detailed as mine. Little did I know, there is a word for this – sonder (not sure if it is dictionary verified yet, but oh well). The image above was shared by Jason a few days after that conversation and I was so excited to discover that this phenomenon I experience pretty regularly actually has a word to describe it! I won’t bore you with my ponderings about the idea of sonder, because I think if you even start to think about it just a little bit you will start to see where I am coming from.

Moving: hiking

On Saturday I got to complete another of my Bucket List items by hiking the Thousand Steps trail in the Dandenong Ranges. The hike itself isn’t long – 1.4km or thereabouts, but it is no walk in the park. Heading up is literally 1000 steps in a row (apparently a few less but I’m not even going to go there), and whilst it only took about 25 minutes to climb by the end my thighs were burning, I was definitely puffed and very sweaty. Coming down was comparatively more relaxing and I got to enjoy the beautiful scenery of the Dandenongs. Hiking is definitely something I love doing and want to do more of in the future, because in my opinion there are few things nicer than leaving the busy-ness of the city and escaping to somewhere with fresh air, lots of trees and a cool rainforest ambience.

Aiming to: go with the flow

A few weeks ago I posted Marianne Williamson’s video about the power of Universal intention, which has continued to perpetuate radical shifts in my daily life. One of those shifts has been letting go (at least in part) of my need to push, control and even manifest everything in my life. There is no doubt that I am, in some ways, a recovering “control freak” and when I was younger I did my best to control everything because I literally freaked out if anything was uncontrolled or messy. Nowadays I am much more spontaneous and worry a whole lot less, but I still have a desire to control a lot of things in my life and to push, push, push until I get what I want. Whilst it usually works (i.e. I generally end up getting what I want or completing the tasks I need to), it comes at a cost – I end up exhausted from all that pushing. 

Over the past few weeks, as I have been practicing surrender, some pretty epically magical things have been happening… Things that I have pushed for so hard for in the past and yet could never seem to attain. Things I have hoped for for years have suddenly and very naturally appeared in my life. As my friend Barbara would say, I have become a ‘manifesting machine’! But the difference is that this manifestation is effortless and magical, rather than being programmed, clinical and forceful. Without wanting to jinx myself, life has been freaking magical, flowing and so much fun! Just this morning, as I danced around the kitchen to some of my favourite tunes, I couldn’t believe that I could be so relaxed and yet very much on top of all my work/uni/other life commitments and chores. It seems the more I surrender, the more I ‘go with the flow’, the easier things get!

Grateful for: being published on Bad Yogi Blog

necklace-518268_1920-690x460About a month ago I decided to write my first post submission for the Bad Yogi Blog and to my delight the almost immediate response came back with a publish date of May 2nd. So as of two days ago I am officially a published contributor to the Bad Yogi Blog! This is a huge honour for me as I have been following Erin Motz since almost the beginning of my yoga journey and it was her original 30 Day Yoga Challenge that kick-started my daily practice.

Therefore, I am so grateful that I have had the opportunity to write for such a wonderful blog community, that I am able to share my experiences with people all over the world and I am grateful for all the beautiful people in the yoga community, both in real life and online, for their guidance, love and support.


As always, I’d love to hear what you’re loving this Wednesday!

Love Erica x

Leave a Reply

