WILW ED # 7

This week I have really got my life in order and as I sit writing this post it is actually Tuesday night. So provided I have correctly programmed the publishing settings, this should be hitting you at 9am tomorrow morning, whilst I am off hard at work (only kidding, see the end of this post). As always, I hope this finds you well and I am wishing you a happy Wednesday and week. Feel free to comment or message me with any feedback, or share what it is that you are loving this week, I would love to hear it!


WILW ED #7

This week I am…

Reading: Thinking in Metaphors 

A few weeks ago (or maybe more, I can’t remember), I featured my awesome friend Barbara as my Fab Friday Foodie Friend. At the time she had just started her own blog, Thinking in Metaphors. Having re-visited her blog today, I was once again struck by the eloquence of her poetry, the depths of her ponderings and the wisdom of her advice. If you want something thought-provoking, relevant and relatable, head right over and check it out. Barbara is incredibly talented in so many ways, and her blog is one lovely insight into her incredible mind and a vehicle through which she shares her original pieces of work.

Listening to: Black Molasses  

On Friday night I had the utter pleasure of seeing a local Melbourne band by the name of Black Molasses perform live, of which an old friend and another friend’s brother are members. I’ve been wanting to go to a gig for ages and I have to say I was absolutely blown away by how much I enjoyed their “hip hop, funk, jazz, inspired grooves with horns, guitar, bass, drums and featuring Basic, Oji Klaus and Saʉl Maiava” (to quote their Sound Cloud description). Seeing them live it is impossible not to get up and dance to their funky beats and I particularly loved the fusion of the brass instruments with the rap lyrics. Check out their Sound Cloud, although know that it is nothing on their live vibes.

Watching: Khan Academy Videos

As I am currently in the depths of mid-semester test revision Khan Academy has quickly become my go-to Youtube channel for revising and reviewing all topics, but especially those that I find more challenging (embryology anyone?!). Although many people might view Youtube as nothing more than a time-wasting form of digital media, it is actually a phenomenal study resource and one that I am using more and more. If you are a uni/high school student I can guarantee you can find a video (or five) on Youtube that will help you to wrap your head around any topic you might be studying. Khan Academy is a particularly fantastic channel with literally thousands of videos that explain often difficult concepts in very simple terms. As I keep emphasising, such videos are a great study resource as often they explain concepts in a different way to how your lecturer or textbook does and that might be enough for you to finally grasp it. We live in a world of abundant information technology, let’s make the most of it.

Quoting: 

quote

I first found this quote several years ago when I created my original wall of inspiration at boarding school and it still rings very true for me. Although it can be a hard truth to swallow, sometimes it is really important to remember that no matter how hard you try, no matter how much energy or time you invest in someone, you cannot save them from their own mistakes or misfortune. The only person who can save that person is them, and likewise the only person who can save you is you. This might be somewhat sobering, but it is also freeing in that all you have to do (although it is not always simple) is love everyone unconditionally. Your unconditional love will transcend whatever issues they may be facing, and whilst things might get worse for them, it doesn’t mean you aren’t loving them enough, it is all just a part of their journey. This quote is like looking at the bigger picture in terms of relationships, all we can ever give and all we can ever receive is love.

Eating: Food Matters Paleo Bread

If you happen to follow us (@berryberryhappyblog) on Instagram, then you may have seen several incarnations of this delicious paleo bread I made last week. I used the Food Matter’s recipe in the link above as inspiration and tweaked a few ingredients, but the result was still pretty phenomenal. You can either use the original recipe, or give my version a go!

Paleo bread topped with bananas, coconut cream and cinnamon!

Paleo bread topped with bananas, coconut cream and cinnamon!

Paleo bread as a burger bun

Paleo bread as a burger bun

FM-Inspired Paleo Bread:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup almond meal
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 2/3 cup arrowroot
  • 2 Tbsp psyllium husk
  • 1 Tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tsp bicarb soda
  • Pinch salt
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil (melted)
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar

Method:
1. Preheat oven to 180C. Line a loaf tin with baking paper.
2. Combine dry ingredients in one bowl and whisk wet ingredients in another bowl.
3. Gently mix wet and dry ingredients together, pour into a loaf tin and bake for 30-40 minutes, or until browned on top and cooked through.
4. Cut into desired thickness slices. Store in airtight container in the fridge.

Pondering: Medium Talk

Sometime last week I read an article about the idea of ‘medium talk’, being the type of conversation that is a level above the classic ‘small talk’. The article explained how the concept of medium talk came about (from some university professor I think) and what is means to exchange medium talk with another person. Medium talk, as I understood it, is conversation with a stranger or acquaintance in which you make an effort to take the topic of conversation to deeper, more personal or unique level. In the article it suggested some of the best examples of medium talk questions, of which my favourite was “What is something you like that most people don’t like?”. After considering my own response to this question (ironing and brussel sprouts came to mind), I then went on to actually use it in conversation at least three times since then, including at a house party where I knew very few people. To my surprise my efforts at medium talk actually worked quite well and I was able to easily keep up conversation and connect with strangers. Something worth practicing I think!

Moving: Swimming 

I finished my second mid-semester test (of three) on Friday and after several days of being a complete study hermit I was in need of some movement and some fresh air, so I decided to go for a swim at the local pool. As a kid I absolutely loved swimming, or more preciously frolicking around in our backyard pool pretending to be a mermaid. I have always been a strong swimmer but it is not something I have ever done regularly. But I have to say, after 2.5km of swimming, including several 25m sprints and an hour of solitude under the water I was feeling incredibly refreshed and renewed.

You may or may not be aware of swimming’s benefits, which include increasing cardiovascular fitness, increasing lung capacity, building muscle tone and strength in the legs, arms and core, and being completely joint-friendly as your weight is suspended in water. Moreover, it can be incredibly meditative simply swimming up and back the length of the pool, especially as you have to focus on rhythmic breathing and movements to ensure you keep going. Such a simple and under-rated form of exercise, perfect for the warmer, sunnier days!

Aiming to: surrender to intention of the Universe 

Yeah, just a small goal this week…. Only kidding (sort of!). After watching Marianne Willamson’s video (which I posted in WILW ED #6 last week) I decided to adopt the idea of waking up and surrendering control to the Universe’s intention for me. For me that looks like simply taking a few moments at the end of my yoga practice to consciously acknowledge what I am grateful for and then surrendering to the Universal intention. At the same time that I surrender also ask the Universe for guidance, protection and knowledge so that I may become the highest manifestation of myself (again in reference to Marianne’s speech). This process of surrendering has been quite challenging, as previously I have tended to adopt a much stronger manifestation mindset in which I clearly assert what it is I would like the Universe to bring to me and do for me. In surrendering I must be much more passive, flexible and responsive to subtle cues, rather than trying to take control of the metaphorical steering wheel at all times. It’s a new and exciting experience for me, and so far it has been a whole lot of fun!

Grateful for: my job(s) that I love

Over the past few days I have been feeling immensely grateful to have jobs that I love to do and in which I find great joy. I realise that I am probably one of the luckiest people alive to be able to have jobs that support me financially but also make me happy and bring me a lot of satisfaction personally. I am grateful for the flexible lifestyle these jobs allow me and the people that I get to interact with as a result of these jobs.


Love Erica x

3 thoughts on “WILW ED # 7

  1. thinkinginmetaphors says:

    Reblogged this on Thinking In Metaphors and commented:
    WILW is Erica’s segment on “What she’s loving on Wednesday” – Might start a similar segment on TIM (thinking in metaphors) – I love how it gives a nice little snapshot of my ideas/people/food/stories/learnings/influences that are happening in this awesome thing called life!

Leave a Reply

