WILW ED # 3

Hello again fabulous friends. I hope your Wednesday has been wonderful so far, and apologies for the lateness of this post – I’ve been cruising home from Melbourne with my mates Tyler and Kate and hence only just got home to post this.

Anyway, here goes for Edition # 3 of ‘What I’m Loving Wednesday’. Before I get to it, I would like to take a moment to express my gratitude to everyone who has given me feedback on these posts, it honestly means the world to me to hear that so many people are enjoying this weekly segment and I am very keen to keep them going, so stay tuned!


WILW ED #3

This week I am…

Reading: Mastering Your Mean Girl by Melissa Ambrosini

mastering your mean girlFor the third week in a row Melissa is featuring in my WILW, and for good reason – she has been a massive influence in my self-love journey. I have been following Melissa for a while now and so was quick to pre-order her new book, Mastering Your Mean Girl. I devoured it in a matter of days once it arrived last December, and immediately started to lend it to friends who I felt needed a dose of Melissa’s wisdom. The book effectively collates Melissa’s years of experience and guides you along the path of mastering your ‘Mean Girl’ (a.k.a. that negative voice in your head that belittles you and keeps you small). I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is struggling with self-doubt and negative self-talk, as it gives you simple tips and practical exercises throughout to help you move through the process of mastering your Mean Girl. Plus, the book is just gorgeous and filled with awesome quotes and pictures.

Listening to: Gold by Kiiara
This is one of the many tunes I have fallen in love with during my yoga classes at Yoga 213, and it sure pairs well with a beautiful Vinyasa flow. I love the heavy beats and rhythms in this one (I’m not sure if that is how you describe music…) and it is a pump up song for sure.

Watching: Luke Warm Sex (ABC iView)luke warm sex
After seeing an ad for this new show on the ABC I was intrigued by the concept and decided to watch the first episode. By the end of last weekend I had watched the whole series (fortunately only 6 episodes) and was telling everyone I knew to watch it.
In short, the series is a documentary that follows awkward and nervous Melbourne comedian Luke McGregor in his endeavours to learn more about, and ultimately get better at, sex. In each episode Luke visits various therapists and aptly named ‘sex-perts’, takes part in a variety of interesting classes and pushes himself well beyond his comfort zone. I personally loved the show for several reasons, primarily because it is absolutely, roll-on-the-floor-laughing hilarious! Watching Luke put himself in the most awkward and uncomfortable positions imaginable and then get really nervous about what he was doing is comedy in itself. But on a deeper level, the show is actually very educational and I love that it is attempting to open up the conversation around sex and lessen the taboo nature of this topic. After all, sex is something that is a part of life and yet we seem to be left to work it out for ourselves, barring some limited sex education involving a condom and a banana.

Quoting: “Successful people simply have successful habits.”
I’ve come across several iterations of this quote before, but I was reminded of it whilst reading The School of Greatness. I think this quote is great because it highlights that successful people aren’t just born successful and they are no different to regular people, they are simply good at doing things that make them successful. In this way, if you want to be more successful you can start by incorporating some successful habits into your life. Maybe just start with one habit and once you have nailed that, move on to another. Remember it takes 21 days to create a habit, so stick with it and watch your life transform.

Eating: Paleo Bircher Muesli
I grabbed this recipe from Pete Evan’s Facebook page and I have made it twice now. In terms of easy and practicality, Bircher is about as great as it gets. You can simply make up a batch of this, put it in the fridge and you have a delicious and quick breakfast ready to go for at least four or five days. Traditionally, Bircher muesli is made from oats and soaked in milk or yogurt, which whilst tasty is a killer combo of inflammatory grains and dairy products, which for many people is not ultimately as healthy as one might believe. This paleo alternative, on the other hand, is a nutrient powerhouse packed full of good fats from the chia seeds, flaxseeds and coconut milk, plus the fibre and phytonutrients from the apple. Chia seeds also have the added benefit of being a good source of Omega 3 fatty acids, which are essential for brain and heart health, and they are also great for detoxification. And in case you haven’t heard, a diet high in good quality fats is the key to sustained weight loss and maintenance, satiation and vibrant health – I listened to a great podcast with Dr Mark Hyman on this topic yesterday. If you are looking for a healthy breakfast that doesn’t require a great deal of effort, give this one a whirl.

A snap of one version of my Bircher muesli toppings.

A snap of one version of my Bircher muesli toppings.

PALEO BIRCHER MUESLI
Ingredients:
½ cup chia seeds
3 tablespoons flaxseeds (aka linseeds)
3 tablespoons shredded coconut
1 can (400ml) coconut milk (plus extra water, if needed)
1 apple, grated
Optional: 1-2 tablespoons grass-fed gelatin
Toppings: activated nuts, fresh fruit, raw honey, goji berries, bee pollen etc.

Method:

  1. Grate apple into a large bowl. Add the chia seeds, flaxseeds, coconut milk and mix together thoroughly. If you want to add the gelatin for some extra protein, add a little bit of water (approx. ¼ cup), as the gelatin will cause it to set quite firmly like a pancetta.
  2. Transfer this mixture to an airtight container and place in the fridge. Once the chia seeds absorb the liquid it will set to be quite firm. If you would like it softer simply add some more water or almond milk and stir through. It will keep easily in the fridge for a week or more.
  3. When ready to eat, scoop out your desired amount of Bircher into a bowl. Top with fruits, nuts, seeds and super foods of your choice. I also love to add a generous sprinkling of cinnamon, to help with blood sugar regulation.

Moving: long walks
If there were one form of exercise I love almost as much as yoga, it would have to be walking. Despite my many attempts to love running, I simply don’t enjoy it, but walking I could do all day long. Just this morning I woke up a little earlier and headed out for a walk that allowed me to see one beautiful, fairy-floss purple and orange sunrise over the city. I personally find walking to be very meditative, especially as I like to walk in the many beautiful parks and gardens around my house in Melbourne, and this connection with nature seems to relieve a lot of my daily worries. I also love to use my walking time to listen to podcasts; I can learn, expand my thinking and get my heart rate up simultaneously. Walking is also a seriously under-rated form of exercise – it is great for muscle tone, blood flow, weight regulation, and general fitness. To get the most out of your walk try to keep it brisk so that you can still talk but are slightly short of breath. Need two more great reasons to walk? It is free and you can do it almost anywhere, anytime.

Aiming: to up my self-love practice and prioritise rest.
I mentioned last week that I went to a Goddess Group with Melissa Ambrosini and the topic was ways to increase and prioritise our self-love practices. Even though I have been consciously deepening my self-love practice for over a year now, I do struggle to prioritise it above other things that I deem more “important” (i.e. university, work, my to-do list). Moreover, I have been guilty of taking on way too much in the past, being unable to say no, pushing myself to the limit and then ultimately crashing and burning (usually in the form of a killer cold). So when I woke up with a sore throat a few days ago I knew it was my body warning me to slow down and up the ante on self-care. For me this meant lots of cups of tea, extra sleep and gentle yoga practice. Instead of beating myself up for being under the weather and trying to carry on as per usual, I have embraced whatever this little pseudo-cold is trying to tell me and taken as much off my plate as I practically can.

I encourage you to do the same – take care of yourself first so that you can be the very best version of you. And do this not only when you are unwell, but all the time so that you can stay at your best! It is not selfish, but instead ensures that you can give more to others in your life and give them permission to care for themselves too.

Grateful for: teaching yoga
I am currently searching for a new home studio in Melbourne, but last week I was honoured to be able to cover a few classes for a fellow yoga teacher and I will be taking some more classes in the coming week at home while I am on Easter break. I am so grateful that I am able to share my love of yoga with others in a teaching capacity and every time I teach I am filled with the most incredible feeling of the love and gratitude. I am grateful for the places where I teach yoga, I am grateful for all of the students who place their trust in me to guide their practice, I am grateful for the personal and professional challenges that teaching presents me with and I am grateful that I have a job that I absolutely love. Feeling blessed!


 

 

Love Erica x

Leave a Reply

