Peppermint Goji Bliss Balls

My first morning lecture has been cancelled today, which means I am going to use this extra hour in my day (super productively) to share with you the Peppermint Bliss Balls that I eluded to in my first edition of WILW (What I’m Loving Wednesday).

These little beauties (of which I have no photographic evidence) were whipped up last Friday night by my friend Caitlin and I in a moment of chocolate-craving desperation, simply from the ingredients I had lying around. What we managed to create was nothing short of delicious and they certainly hit the chocolate cravings hard! They also got the tick of approval from more than one of my other friends, so all-in-all a success. The other great thing is since I had no dates I used green leaf stevia powder as a sweetener and it worked out wonderfully, plus it means the balls are effectively fructose-free (except the few goji berries we chucked in).

As a little disclaimer, we did not measure anything, so here is a rough version of the recipe.  Adjust the quantities as you feel you need to (intuitive cooking anyone?). If you have your own tried and tested bliss ball recipe (such as my original favourite here) then you can simply add 2-3 drops of doTerra Peppermint Essential oil for an equally amazing result.


Peppermint Goji Bliss Balls (makes approx. 20)

Ingredients:

Method:
1. You know the drill – throw everything into a blender/food processor, blend until a smooth, thick paste is formed. Roll into balls (roll in shredded coconut if you like) and place in the fridge in an air-tight container.

Notes:

*Green leaf stevia powder is the least processed form of stevia available, other than the actual plant, therefore is a much healthier option than the white, processed forms of stevia in the supermarkets, which are often packed with other forms of fruit sugars and derivatives. Stevia, for those who don’t know, is a super-sweet herb that originates from South America. It is 300 times sweeter than sugar on a weight-for-weight basis, so you really only need the tiniest bit to sweeten in your recipes – hence 1/2 tsp is plenty for the bliss balls.
**doTerra is the brand of essential oils that I was introduced to by Katie Tankard – they are of the highest quality, 100% pure and Food Grade approved (meaning you can eat them). Please ensure any oil you use in cooking is of Food Grade standard and pure. doTerra might seem expensive, but if you consider that each 15ml bottle has 300 drops, and this recipe calls for 3 drops at most, then it costs less than $0.50 per batch of bliss balls (I did the maths for you).


 

Let me know what you think! Have you ever used essential oils in your food before?

Love Erica x

Leave a Reply

