Friday Fab Foodie Friend: Zoë Larigakis

Okay, firstly big apologies for the lack of posts and in particular Fab Foodie Friends lately. The new uni semester has just started and so I’ve been somewhat neglectful of my blog… Regardless, I have another wonderful, inspiring and authentic soul to share with you today – my new friend Zoë.

The story of how Zoë and I met probably sounds like something you would see in a movie. One morning I went to a Vinyasa class and after sweating it out for an hour I got changed and sat down to enjoy my breakfast in the beautiful studio before heading off to uni. This friendly looking girl who I had seen in class when I finished my mediation came and sat down on the seat next to me, also eating breakfast. Normally I am so shy and introverted that I would never dream of striking up a conversation with a stranger, but something this morning urged me just to say hello.

Long story short we bonded pretty much immediately and ended up chatting for about an hour before we both had to go to uni. As it turned out Zoë was actually on exchange from Canada at the same uni as me. The rest, as they say, is history. We caught up a few times for brunch and more yoga and market exploration. Each time it reminded me what it feels like to connect with someone on a soul level – our conversations flowed and they were deep and meaningful.

Zoë is certainly another young person who is wise well beyond her years. Enjoy the interview!


 

The gorgeous Zoë.

The gorgeous Zoë.

1. Tell us a bit about yourself and what you are currently doing in life?

Well, I’m 21 and from Vancouver, on the beautiful West Coast of Canada. I just finished a semester abroad at the University of Melbourne where I completed my bachelor of science in psychology with a minor in biology. Currently I’m living in Byron Bay working as a nanny and enjoying my last few months in Australia before I head off to travel indefinitely in Asia!

2. What are your passions? What do you love to do/talk about?

Traveling is kind of my focus in life at the moment and I love a good chat about adventure and all that entails. I love music, and I’m always up to see any type of live show or just listen to music. I love experimenting in the kitchen and trying new foods. Yoga is an integral part of my life and I love to share the experience with others – I’m always up for attending a class with a friend and discussing yoga philosophy. I think most of all I love to spend as much time as possible outside, preferably near the ocean or in a lush forest or in the mountains.

3. What kick-started your interest in health and wellness? Was it a turning point moment or a gradual transition?

My parents are both in the medical field, so I’ve been surrounded with health-conscious attitudes my whole life. More recently though, I had an unfortunate experience with medications that led me to a fairly low point in my health. It prompted me to rise to a whole new level of awareness of my health, leading me to take on a very conscious holistic approach to my wellbeing. It really has been a blessing; I have gained so much insight into the many forces that constitute a healthy being on the physical, mental, and spiritual dimensions.

 4. In your opinion what is a healthy lifestyle?

Every being is so unique and has been shaped in an entirely unique way, thus its needs will be unique. A truly healthy lifestyle is tailored to suit those individual needs, and fulfill the deficits that you might have in your health. True health comes from cultivating wellness with a healthy and loving mindset, treating the body with care and respect. The goal should be to settle in a harmonious equilibrium within all systems of the self ~ finding that beautiful space in between pushing the mental/physical limitations and not being so hard on yourself. It’s all about that balance!

zoe 3

5. Describe your average day – what do you do, eat, wear, create?

Mmm I’ve been liking waking up fairly early lately and getting in a beach run or walk first thing in the morning, followed by a yoga practice. I love breakfast so I like to make something yummy for breakfast, usually some variation on scrambled eggs and veggies. Then I take care of the kids all day! 3-year old Millie and 8-month old Macy, they are pretty precious. We draw and paint and play Pirates and Fairies and Mermaids.

6. What is your favourite way to move and be active? 

Yoga for sure! I mainly practice on my own, but I love going to a strong vinyasa class or a blissful yin class. I also think it’s crucial to get outside and move your body in nature, even if it’s just for a few minutes a day. Hiking, running, walking and cycling are all great. I absolutely love being in the ocean and think that swimming just feels amazing. I also love surfing and scuba diving. And skiing and snowboarding in the winter time of course!

 7. What do you like to do in your down time or to relax?

Lately I’ve been spending my free time reading, writing, listening to audiobooks, drawing, painting, playing guitar, and doing any of the aforementioned physical activities. Nannying is pretty energetically demanding as I’m constantly doing things for others, so I’ve been taking priority in my personal recalibration time. I try to make time in every day for some stillness.

8. What is a quote that resonates with you at the moment?

I found this little card on the beach that says:

“You yourself, as much as anybody in the entire universe, deserve your love and affection.”

I’ve been using it as a bookmark and it’s just been the nicest little daily reminder. We often get so caught up in trying to please others that we forget to channel that love inwardly! And we can give so much more generously to others when we take time to love ourselves, too.

zoe 1

9. What is your philosophy or approach to life? Do you have a personal motto or mantra?

It’s all about that balance!!!!!!!!

10. Top 3 favourite foods?

  1. Moussaka (I’m half Greek after all J )
  2. Laksa soup
  3. Strawberries

11. What is one health/wellness/spirituality film or book that you would recommend to everyone?

The book that triggered a huge turning point in my spirituality and mental health a while ago was “Bringing Home the Dharma” by Jack Kornfield. I found myself bookmarking pages of it and giving it to friends that wanted to better understand what I was going through. More recently though, my mum gave me a copy of “Women’s Bodies, Women’s Wisdom” by Christiane Northrup. Holy smokes, any ladies interested in gaining a whole new spectrum of body awareness should give this book a read. It’s like the Holy Bible of women’s holistic health!

12. What is your advice to someone who would like to make positive health changes in their life?

Take your time, be patient with yourself, and love yourself. Make sure all goals and manifestations come from a place of love. Be present and do not put any attachment onto future outcomes. Listen to your body, follow its cues, and be grateful for it no matter what state it might be in; its wisdom is far, far greater than any advice that you can seek externally.

13. What is the best thing that has happened today?

 I just had curry for dinner! Yum.

14. Other than a healthy lifestyle, what do you think are three keys to health and happiness?

  1. Surround yourself with people around whom you can be the most authentic version of yourself.
  2. Read good books.
  3. BE PRESENT.

15. Anything else you would like to add? A recipe you would like to share?

Namaste!!!!! <3 xxxx


What did you think? Pretty inspirational right?

Keep healthy and happy,

Erica xx

 

Leave a Reply

