Friday Fab Foodie Friend: Todd Shannon

It’s time for another Fab Foodie Friend, but first apologies for missing out on last week, life just gets a bit crazy, messy and beautiful sometimes, doesn’t it? However, after this Fab Foodie Friend I hope you will agree it was worth the wait, because this week I had the pleasure of interviewing my good friend, Todd Shannon.

Todd and I have actually been friends since we were tiny junior divers and trained together in Mildura, however in the last year or so we have bonded over our mutual love of clean, healthy food and talking about all things related to health and wellness. When we get the chance Todd and I also like to attempt a little bit of AcroYoga (see pics below). We also have regular catch ups when I am home that always revolve around some yummy and healthy treat or meal that one of us has created.

IMG_6600

 

Todd is certainly an inspiring individual, whose passion for human movement and nutrition is clear in everything that he does. His commitment to his CrossFit training has resulted in some impressive performances and personal bests in the last few months, and Todd continues to grow stronger and become more competitive each day. He truly does live a model healthy lifestyle and practices exactly what he preaches.

I hope you enjoy the interview – Erica x


1. Tell us a bit about yourself and what you are currently doing?

Hi, I’m Todd! I am 19 years old, and at the moment I coach and train at CrossFit Mildura and spend my days working at a local cafe. I am currently training to be the best CrossFit coach and athlete that I can be.

2. What are your passions in life? What do you love to do/talk about?

My passion is human performance through movement, nutrition and using the power of the mind. I love food, talking nonsense and having fun. I wouldn’t consider myself a health-freak, I like to do normal things like watch TV shows (currently Game of Thrones).

3. What kick-started your interest in health and wellness? Was it a turning point moment or a gradual transition?

I have always been relatively healthy growing up, which was largely influenced by my parents. I think the biggest change happened when I started CrossFit, because I focussed on performance with my body, which requires healthy eating habits. Since then it has been a consistent focus, and I continue to get healthier with each day.

Screen Shot 2015-07-01 at 10.52.10 am

4. In your opinion what is a healthy lifestyle? 

I think being happy is the number one thing, and eating what is right for your body and listening to what your body needs.

5. Describe your average day – what do you do, eat, wear, create?

Wake up at 5am, drink half a litre of water, have a handful of nuts and a ‘Bulletproof’ coffee, coach CrossFit at 6am, which finishes at 7am. I then go home and cook a huge meal, usually consisting of lots of eggs and veggies. I start at the cafe at about 8am and work there until the afternoon, sometimes I have clients (at CrossFit) at about 3pm. I then train myself at 5pm through til 7pm, then home, eat dinner and bed by 8pm or so.

6. What is your favourite way to move and be active? 

CrossFit! (Olympic weightlifting, powerlifting, gymnastics, metabolic conditioning).

Screen Shot 2015-07-01 at 10.53.21 am

7. What do you like to do in your down time or to relax?

Active recovery – something like a swim and a sauna; or watch TV shows, or nap.

8. What is a quote that resonates with you at the moment?

“Remind yourself that you don’t have to do what everybody else is doing.”

9. What is your philosophy or approach to life? Do you have a personal motto or mantra?

Be who you want to be, not who people expect you to be.

IMG_6406

10. Top 3 favourite foods?

1. Avocado

2. Cashews

3. Salmon

11. What is one health/wellness/spirituality film or book that you would recommend to everyone?

Hungry for Change by the people at Food Matters.

12. What is your advice to someone who would like to make positive health changes in their life?

Don’t be obsessive over it, just make it your lifestyle. Also, join a club of some sort in an area that you enjoy, such as gymnastics or rowing or something like that. Don’t just workout, do it for performance.

Screen Shot 2015-07-01 at 10.52.53 am

13. Where do you imagine yourself in 5-10 years time?

I would like to be at a higher level of competition in CrossFit. I would like to be rehabilitating people through human movement and a physiotherapy-style of treatment.

14. What is the best thing that has happened today?

Coaching the 6am CrossFit session and then eating Erica’s banana pancakes for brekkie.

15. Other than a healthy lifestyle, what do you think a three keys to health and happiness?

1. Good relationships with people.

2. Not overworking yourself.

3. Never doubting yourself.

16. Anything else you would like to add?

Do what makes you happy!


Keep happy and healthy,

Erica xx

Leave a Reply

