Friday Fab Foodie Friend: Gabi Belperio

Okay, so technically it’s not Friday anymore, but I figure it still is somewhere in the world! This week I had the pleasure of interviewing another Fab Foodie Friend – Gabi Belperio. Gabi and I went to the same school together in Adelaide, and although she is two years below me, we bonded (via Instagram) over our mutual love of all things related to health and wellness. At the ripe old age of 16 Gabi is incredibly knowledgable about nutrition and wellness, and she really does walk the walk of a healthy lifestyle, all whilst balancing her many other commitments. She is also passionate about self-love and not doubting yourself, which is definitely something I think other young girls (and ALL people) would really benefit from learning. Anyway, enough of my preamble, I will let Gabi do the talking now. Have a lovely weekend! x


1. Tell us a bit about yourself and what you are currently doing in life? Hellllooo!! My name is Gabi and I’m 16 years old, so I am in year 11! Life at the moment consists of studying for exams, creating new meals, training for a 10km run, finding new blogs and markets, working at Grill’d in Norwood and hanging out with friends and family. At the moment, I am also trying to go vegetarian!!

2. What are your passions? What do you love to do/talk about? I thesaurused the word ‘passion’ to try and do a bit of a play on words, to soon find the top three options to be hunger, appetite and craving. So, these sum my passions up pretty well!! I loooove food, well, healthy food of course! So, I’ve been eating vegetarian all throughout the day except it is a little hard to at dinner with Mum cooking for us and usually incorporating some kind of meat. I am also passionate about changing other people’s diets to be healthier too! I also love long distance running and am currently training for a 10km run coming up in July in the Gold Coast! Running has been a big passion of mine for a while although I have only become more serious about it in the past year or so.

Gabi's banana pancakes + ice cream

Gabi’s banana pancakes + ice cream

3. What kick-started your interest in health and wellness? Was it a turning point moment or a gradual transition? It was in about year 6 when I wasn’t happy with my body and doubted myself a lot. I started eating really little amounts and wasn’t getting nearly enough calories in each day. At about the age of 13, I started to learn about healthy eating and started to make changes and gradually put the weight back on and gained my happiness back! Since, then I have started running and learnt so much more about health and wellness, developing new meals and using other peoples!!!

4. In your opinion what is a healthy lifestyle? A healthy lifestyle is actually simpler than it seems! I think the main factor is balance, not to be hard on your self always but not to be too lenient either. Also, to have a good idea of where your food is coming try, trying to eat as locally as possible. Also, to not hurt your body by eating added sugars, preservatives, additives etc… these are so unneeded and make you feel just blugh! Doing some kind of physical exercise is also important to keep the mind and body stimulated. Lastly, I think it is important to love your body and know that even if you don’t have visible abs or super toned legs, it doesn’t mean you are worth any less.

A gorgeous vego salad

A gorgeous vego salad

5. Describe your average day – what do you do, eat, wear, create? Well, this probably isn’t the best time to ask me this questions, considering exams are just around the corner and I’m not exactly being as active as I would like to be. But….for a normal school day, this is how my day goes: 6:50am – wake up 7:20am – BREAKFAST (fave meal of the day – banana and berry nice cream w/ chia, dates, coconut or oat pancakes with banana and kiwi and coconut!) 8:30am – school, studying, learning! 10:30am – recess! Fruit or a pre-baked ‘something’! 11am – school, studying, learning! 1:00pm – lunch! – usually something along the lines of vege and lentil soup or lentils and vege stir up. 2:00pm – school, studying, learning! 3:30pm – home time! Go for a run or do a workout at home – be active in some way. 5pm – snack and homework. 6:30pm – dinner – changes each night. 10:30pm – bed time :’)

6. What is your favourite way to move and be active?  There are honestly so many forms of active movement that are good for you! My favourites include running (if you haven’t already guessed), walking or a cardio/strength workout! These are easy to do at home with minimal equipment and it goes to show that you don’t need a gym membership to be fit and see improvements!!

7. What do you like to do in your down time or to relax? Find new food blogs, catch up on tv series, see family and friends! (or go for a run!)

8. What is a quote that resonates with you at the moment? A person who never made a mistake, never learnt anything!!

Mmm, banana pancakes + berry ice cream

Mmm, banana pancakes + berry ice cream

9. What is your philosophy or approach to life? Do you have a personal motto or mantra? Self love and not to doubt yourself!

10. Top 3 favourite foods? This is too hard! But, bananas, pancakes (healthy, of course) and pasta!

More banana pancakes!

More banana pancakes!

11. What is one health/wellness/spirituality film or book that you would recommend to everyone? Although not the most pleasant film to watch, ‘Earthlings’ is about society’s treatment of animals.

12. What is your advice to someone who would like to make positive health changes in their life? Saying you will do something and actually doing it are very different things!

13. What is the best thing that has happened today? Completing my maths and legal exam today!!!

14. Other than a healthy lifestyle, what do you think are three keys to health and happiness?

  • Love yourself
  • Listen to your body
  • Practice makes perfect!

I hope you liked the interview again this week, stay tuned for next week’s Fab Foodie Friday! Keep happy and healthy, Erica xx

Leave a Reply

