Fab Foodie Friend Friday: Caitlin Hicks

Hey there beautiful people, I have something very exciting for you today – my first weekly segment! I have wanted to start a regular interview segment for a little while now, but today marks my inaugural interview with one of my many fab foodie friends! I am fortunate enough to have met and become friends with quite a few wonderfully inspiring, vibrant and healthy people who all have their own stories and messages. This segment is all about sharing just a few of these stories and introducing you to some of the people who have had the greatest positive impacts on my life. I hope that these interviews will inspire, motivate and enlighten you too.

For the very first Friday Fab Foodie Friend I am delighted to introduce you (well, sort of) to my beautiful friend Caitlin Hicks. I have known Caitlin for the past 6 or so years (although apparently we were also friends as toddlers) and had the great pleasure of watching her blossom into a creative genius and gorgeous young woman. She may be young at the tender age of 17, but she is passionate, wise beyond her years and radiates with love of life and authenticity that is invigorating. She is not just a passionate foodie, but an up-and-coming fashionista and my go-to person for creative direction. Enough from me now, I hope you enjoy the interview!

~Erica x

Hi, I'm Caitlin! Nice to meet you :)

Hi, I’m Caitlin! Nice to meet you :)

1. Tell us a bit about yourself and what you are currently doing?

Hey hey! I’m Caitlin, fellow foodie, groover and River Pheonix obsess-ee. Well right now I’m in underwear and a turtle neck while keyboard bashing, so thats kinda where I’m at! In reality I’m currently completing Year 12 with big big plans for the next few years, including hopefully lots of travel, learning and connecting with new people! 

2. What are your passions in life? What do you love to do/talk about?

In terms of my own personal passions I am a true lover of design and always have been. I think it stems back from growing up around and being enthralled in art. Over the past year I have been fortunate enough to showcase some of my clothing designs at Virgin Melbourne Fashion Festival in their Future Runway and met some amazing people though that. I love art, music and reading so am always embracing new muses. I am also fascinated by people and their stories so you will always find me watching, reading and listening to interviews, documentaries and autobiographies.

I am also a traveller and truly embrace cultures of other countries, which is what I am saving all my pennies for and cannot wait to roll (I am going to the East side of America at the end of the year – any advice on where to go and places to eat, give me a holla!)

image-7

3. What kick-started your interest in health and wellness? Was it a turning point moment or a gradual transition?

Around the age of 15 I started to get really bad acne which led me to trying all sorts of horrendous things! All the gels, creams, potions and lotions didn’t make change a single thing! After listening to my foodie pal Erica, on her similar quest for clear skin I started participating in my own research. I immediately cut sugar out of my diet and after a few hurdles I really haven’t looked back. I now live a processed food, dairy and refined-sugar free lifestyle, which is one of the greatest things I have ever done for my mind and my body. Treating your body as a temple truly creates a clear mind and energised body and doesn’t really leave any room for the nasty stuff – this relates to more than just food.

4. In your opinion what is a healthy lifestyle? 

One of mindfulness and balance with appreciation and awareness of where your food has come from. Growing up in regional Australia, there has never been any doubt in my mind of where my food has come from. This is why I place so much importance on local and natural foods, those that are not ridded with chemicals or additives or that I have no idea where they were ‘grown’.

image

5. Describe your average day – what do you do, eat, wear, create?

I wake, run, sing, eat (loving this amazing buckwheat porridge https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ADj9IfSoK8g) read papers, dress (I have a very eclectic style and and love fashion), makeup (I keep it very minimal), groove during my commute (Arctic Monkeys, Chet Faker, Kanye, Lo-Fang, Sticky Fingers, Alt-J, Glass Animals, Hilltop Hoods), learn, (Morning tea // normally a piece of fruit and a pre prepared baked good or a bliss ball. Lunch // generally left overs or a wholesome salad – chickpeas, falafels and sweet potatoes are essential in my week!!). The rest of my day consists of study and my creative work before I retire at dinner. I spend some time relaxing before doing some more work and then taking time to read before bed.

6. What is your favourite way to move and be active? 

Any form of movement is good movement! Doesn’t matter what you are doing as long as you are enjoying it and having fun! This philosophy is the key to my trials in the sporting arena, I have done gymnastics, diving, tennis, swimming, dance, laughter club, pilates, running, surfing (seriously you name it, I’ve tried it!) Currently I dance almost every day (in my room), run as much as I can, do ariel yoga once a week and surf WHEN EVER I AM NEAR THE SEA.

image-6

7. What do you like to do in your down time or to relax?

Create (write, draw, paint, sew), sing (poorly), groove, learn and love life.

8. What is a quote that resonates with you at the moment?

Flats are the short girls middle finger.

9. What is your philosophy or approach to life? Do you have a personal motto or mantra?

Don’t take anything too seriously, you cannot be in control of the past or the future and I find it really important to take step back and put that into perspective. Have as much fun with life and always be kind there really isn’t any more to life.

10. Top 3 favourite foods?

Falafels, cashews and chocolate cake (It can be healthy I swear!!!) http://www.greenkitchenstories.com/banana-almond-chocolate-cake/

image-1

11. What is one health/wellness/spirituality film or book that you would recommend to everyone?

That Sugar Film – It lays the truth about the common foods we eat in such a simple and real way. It creates a very non-debatable argument which I think is important for people who still see this lifestyle as a ‘diet’.

12. What is your advice to someone who would like to make positive health changes in their life?

Don’t think of it as a diet. Period. It is a lifestyle that we were designed to live by and that is that. Beginning I would just cut out all the processed foods, which isn’t natural for our bodies, and eat as much wholesome and non-refined goods as possible! After that initial step I truly believe it is a personal feeling about what is best for your own body, for me that is without refined sugars and dairy but not everyone is the same – its important to remember that and not punish yourself for it.

I also find it so helpful to spend a few hours on Sunday afternoon preparing for the week ahead. I make a heap of bliss balls, roast lots of vegetables, cook some quinoa, falafels, baked goods, pestos, pasta etc. This makes it really easy for me to pack some goods while I’m on the go to snack on and make really quick lunches with the veggies, pesto, quinoa, pasta and falafels. (You really can’t lose!) This also means that healthy food is always accessible and which removes the thought of snacking on processed goods – out of sight, out of mind.

13. Where do you imagine yourself in 5-10 years time?

Living overseas (the question is only where!). I am currently aiming to enter an arts degree at Melbourne University with the final goal of completing my Juris Doctor (law degree). Although I don’t particularly want to practice law, I want to use it as a tool to work amongst the business end of the fashion industry. I really love the idea of incorporating my creative side of photography, styling, writing and my creative mindset into a career where I am continually learning and doing new things.

image-4

14. What is the best thing that has happened today?

After a very stressful meeting with some teachers, a friend of mine noticed my stress during our frees and he printed off a revision sheet without saying anything. A little random act of kindness calmed me down and made me smile. It doesn’t sound like much but it really made my day.

15. Other than a healthy lifestyle, what do you think a three keys to health and happiness?

1. Surrounding your self with happy people :) I would much rather do my own thing than hang around a bunch of people who complain and ‘bitch’ till the cows come home (Wait, I think the cows are home…)

2. Listening to music that makes you move. We truly act as a sponge when it comes to beats and if the music feels good, so will we.

3. Immerse yourself in an experience and don’t sit back and complain. If something isn’t right then get involved.

16. Anything else you would like to add?

Keep cool.

Over and out friends.

Connect with Caitlin:
TWITTER// @caitlinhicks__
INSTAGRAM// @caitlin__hicks
What did you think of my first Friday Fab Foodie Friend interview? Feel free to ask extra questions below.
Keep healthy,
Erica xx
Leave a Reply

