Wishing You a Happy International Happiness Day!

It’s funny how little coincidences in life happen. Take today for example: I woke up and whilst practicing yoga and meditating I noticed I didn’t feel as happy and positive as I normally do, which then lead me to pondering my happiness and what it depends upon, which lead me further to the conclusion that my happiness is independent. My happiness does not depend upon the weather, the food I am eating (although nutrition is always important), what other people say and do, my marks at school, the uncertainty in the future or the problems around me. My happiness is mine and mine alone and it is independent of all these things. That thought cheered me up and so I went to have breakfast. As I always do I was flicking through the morning paper when an article caught my eye, and alas I found out that today is in fact International Happiness Day. Hopefully you now understand what I mean about coincidences…

I Googled the term international happiness day and found the website:Β http://www.dayofhappiness.net. According to their statistics 87% of people believe that happiness and wellbeing is more important than money and materialistic possessions – what a relief! But how many of that 87% of people are actually happy?

Happiness is somewhat of a difficult concept to grasp and even more difficult to find. Many people search their entire lives for happiness, whilst others proclaim that in searching for it you are destined never to find it. In my opinion, we all have our own happiness, but some people choose to focus too heavily on the negative things in their lives which leads to a feeling of unhappiness. No one is always happy, to be so would not be living. Life is all about the ups and downs, the roller coaster ride, but happiness should be treasured and valued by everyone. After all, if you are not living to enjoy life, then what are you living for.

Give love and happiness to others!

Give love and happiness to others!

Happiness is:

  • Finding joy in everyday life.
  • Saying positive affirmations and having a positive attitude.
  • Smiling.
  • Giving and receiving love.
  • Belly-laughing.
  • Realising that even in the hardest of times, there is always light at the end of the tunnel.
  • Finding/having true friends.
  • Time to yourself.
  • Playing.
  • Taking the time to do the things you love.
  • Noticing the little things that make you happy.
  • Being grateful for all that you have.
  • A cup of tea (in my opinion, anyway).
  • Waking up each day with a sense of anticipation and excitement.

So, today of all days, ask yourself: am I happy? If the answer is yes, congratulations! If no, don’t despair. Why is it that you are unhappy? Is there something or someone in your life that is making you so? Can you change that situation? If not, change your attitude towards the situation. Are you simply not seeing the beauty and joy in your life? If so, choose to see it. Happiness is independent and it is always a choice.

Think happy thoughts.

Think happy thoughts.

Happiness and positivity is something I truly believe in, and so today and everyday, from the bottom of my heart I wish you a happy, happy day!

What is happiness to you? How are you celebrating International Happiness Day?

Keep happy,

Erica xx

2 thoughts on “Wishing You a Happy International Happiness Day!

  1. barbara says:

    Aww, nice post Erica! I was feeling not my usual self too – i needed some inspiration, so I decided to see if you had posted anything new… and whadda ya know!…luv your work!

Leave a Reply

