Meet My Awesomely Amazing Sister, Peta

So you may have noticed that the Berry, Berry Happy Instagram account has been getting a bit of a workout lately, and that the pictures are getting increasingly arty and gorgeous (well I think they are…). As much as I would love to claim that I am getting in touch with my inner artist (it’s there somewhere), the truth is my little sister, Peta, has been working her magic. Peta has a natural knack for making all the amazing food look even more amazing and so for that reason I have made her my designated food photographer, but she will also be helping me more and more to bring you new and exciting stuff on BBH! HOW GREAT IS THAT?

Peta and I on holidays in the Cook Islands. Peta is the blonde one!

Peta and I on holidays in the Cook Islands. Peta is the blonde one!

But first, let me introduce Peta, or should I say let Peta introduce herself to you all. I have never done an interview style post, but I guess you can’t go wrong when it’s your sister!

So Peta, what inspired your recent interest in health and wellness? Was there a moment or just a gradual movement towards a better, healthier life and attitude?
Well…. I always had you inspiring/forcing me (aw, shucks Peta! I swear she actually said this) into eating better and making better choices for my health. I guess over this year I gradually got healthier and more into food blogs (like this one) and did some cooking and started to enjoy that. It was mainly last term that I really started to eat really well and exercising more.

When you think of health, what comes to mind? What do you think is the basis for good health?
Freshly grown produce and pretty much just everything that you can grow yourself e.g fruit and veggies. Then just eggs, protein, meat and fish. It’s about a clean diet, not processed, so no packaged food.

What is your favourite kind of exercise and why?
I love all forms of exercise. I mostly do running, yoga and swimming a little. It depends on my mood, but I mostly love running, although if I am not up for that going for a walk or doing yoga is great too.

What is your favourite food (or foods…)? What is your go-to snack or meal?
I LOVE PEANUT BUTTER! That is probably my favourite food, followed closely by green tea, watermelon, muesli and berries. My go-to snack…. probably apple with peanut butter or a fruit salad. My favourite meal is curry of any kind or a simple omelette, because it is quick and you can put whatever Β you want in it.

Do you believe in the power of positivity? How do you bring positivity into your life daily?
Yes, I do believe in it. I guess each day I try to be as positive as I can and when I feel myself getting down I like to do exercise, because I feel better after that.

What do you think is the biggest problem or obstacle you have had to overcome on your journey to health?
Getting to like natural peanut butter (Peta was a Kraft girl until about a year ago) and not eating the whole jar of it in one go (no binging).

In terms of health, where do you see yourself in five years time?
Hopefully just looking and feeling fit and healthy and not having weight worry me and a natural, healthy ‘glow’. And also I hope to be doing a lot of clean cooking (because we will be out of the boarding house by then) and nourishing my body.

Who is someone that inspires you and why?
You Erica (again, I swear there was no bribery). Because you have influenced me into changing my lifestyle for the better and you are always positive and you help me when I need it. And you showed me how healthy baked foods can be easy and taste even better than the original versions.

What is a random fact about you?
I used to hate broccoli, but now it is one of my favourite foods. And I used to be known as the ‘chemical kid’, because I ate so much junk food. Just proof anyone can change.

This is Erica again… I am so excited that I will get to be working with Peta to bring you more recipes and even more beautiful pictures of our creations. Stay tuned!

Keep healthy, Erica and Peta xx

Leave a Reply

