Sticky Date Fruit Loaf (Version 1)

I am not the kind of person who follows recipes down to the finest details. In fact I struggle to remember the last time I actually followed a recipe precisely, because generally I change things, substitute ingredients and use up whatever is in my cupboard. This recipe comes from one of my Nan’s recipes, which contained sugar, butter and SR flour. I have made it her way before I went gluten free and it was delicious, so I decided to try and ‘healthify’ it, so I could enjoy it minus all the bad stuff. I loved my Nan dearly and she was an incredible baker, but her recipes are not gluten free friendly.

I substituted almond meal for flour and it turned out incredibly moist, but almost too moist, so I think perhaps half coconut flour and almond meal would work better to hold the loaf together (because this one basically fell apart in your hands). I substituted coconut oil for butter to make it dairy free, but organic, grass-fed butter would be fine if your body and you are happy with this. I substituted honey for sugar, which went well with the dried fruit. If you wanted to reduce the natural sugars you could add some chopped nuts or seeds instead of dried fruit or use your favourite sugar-free sweetener.

Sticky Date Fruit Loaf

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup boiling water
  • 1 teaspoon bi-carb soda
  • 1 cup dried fruit (and seeds or nuts if you like)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tablespoon coconut oil
  • 1 cup honey, maple syrup or rice malt syrup
  • 2 ΒΎ – 3 cup almond meal

Method:
1. Place water, fruit, honey, soda and butter/coconut oil in bowl, stir and leave to cool.
2. Add almond and mix well. Keep adding until a cake like consistency is achieved (not too runny).
3. Bake in lined loaf tin in moderate oven (160C) for approx Β½ hour. Cut into slices and enjoy (with butter if desired).

I will keep working on this recipe until I perfect it, in consistency and taste. Stay tuned for more ‘healthified’ Nan’s recipes, RIP Nan.

Do you follow recipes? Do you like to ‘healthify’ your family favourites?

Keep healthy, Erica xx

Leave a Reply

