Chicken, Pumpkin & Brown Rice Risotto

IMG_1986

I must improve my food photography, but trust me it was delish!

Today I am off to Bali for a week, to disconnect and truly relax, which includes leaving my laptop at home. Even though I won’t have it with me, stay tuned because I have scheduled a new post every day while I am on holidays, including raw cheesecake recipes, green smoothies and more inspirational quotes. Today I wanted to share with you this recipe for Pumpkin and Chicken Brown Rice Risotto, which is fabulous! I hope you have a great week, I will be back soon, hopefully more tanned and relaxed than ever!

When I saw this amazing recipe on Finger, Fork & Knife I knew I just had to make it. It is the perfect warming, soul-nourishing recipe for winter, when all you want to do is curl up with a steaming bowl of this! I made this for my dad and I when I was at home last and it was so delicious we both had seconds.

Using brown rice instead of Arborio rice increases the vitamin and mineral content, plus pumpkin because it is delicious, parsley and lemon for detoxification and chicken adds protein. I made a few alterations to Kate’s original recipe, so check out her version here.

Chicken, Pumpkin & Brown Rice Risotto

Ingredients:
350g butternut pumpkin, peeled, seeded and diced
1-2 organic, free-range chicken breasts, diced
Olive oil
1 medium leek, sliced
½ cup organic white wine
500mL good quality chicken stock, preferably organic
1.5 litres water
1 cup medium grain brown rice
½ cup (or more) chopped flat leaf parsley
Juice ½ lemon
Sea salt

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 200oC. Drizzle some olive oil over the chopped pumpkin, toss with salt and pepper and roast for 30-35 minutes until tender and caramelised. Remove from oven and set aside.
  2. Heat fry pan over medium-heat and cook chicken in olive oil until cooked through. In a large pot combine chicken stock and water and bring to a gentle simmer.
  3. Add leeks to pan with chicken and cook for 10 minutes until soft but not browned. Add rice and cook for a minute until it starts to looks translucent. Add wine and keep stirring until alcohol has evaporated.
  4. Once the wine has cooked into the rice, add 1 cup of hot stock and roasted pumpkin. Reduce heat and let simmer until liquid has been absorbed.
  5. Repeat process, adding one ladleful of stock and waiting until it has been absorbed to add the next. This will take a little while, just be patient.
  6. Just before serving add lemon juice and stir through. Serve with generous amounts of parsley and a dollop of greek yogurt if you so desire.

*Note: for a vegetarian/vegan option, omit chicken and replace with legumes of your choice if desired and replace chicken stock with veggie stock.

Keep healthy, Erica xx

Leave a Reply

