Nourishing Green Smoothie – Katie from Thrive Fitness & Wellbeing

I used to be a little afraid of green smoothies… The idea of a heap of veggies blended up was off-putting to say the least, even though I enjoyed straight veggie juice (I was a bit hypocritical). However, I slowly began to dabble with adding green leafy vegetables to my smoothies and found that either you couldn’t taste it or it was quite enjoyable. Then came Katie’s seminar where she made us her version of a green smoothie and even though I was hesitant having seen everything that went in, it tasted delicious and was packed full of goodies. Smoothies are great for breakfast because they are light, raw and nutritious but filling enough that you won’t be hungry in an hour. I am craving a green smoothie at the moment but because I am at boarding school I can’t make one (serious sad face), so enjoy one on my behalf. Here is a basic recipe:

Katie’s Nourishing Green Smoothie (Thrive Fitness & Wellbeing)

  • 1 green apple
  • ½ frozen banana
  • 50g celery, chopped
  • 1 whole lemon, peeled and chopped
  • A few mint leaves
  • 1 small slither ginger
  • 1 cup water or almond milk
  • ½ cup ice
  • You may remove and add ingredients as you choose. Optional extras include 1 big handful baby spinach, 100g small cucumbers, 1 small zucchini chopped.

Combine all ingredients in good high-speed blender, blend until creamy and enjoy!

Keep healthy, Erica xx

Leave a Reply

