Pledge a Week

We all have things we know we should or want to change… Eating less processed food, doing more exercise, finding time to meditate, being more organised, etc. But often it is too hard just to try and change it all at once, knowing that you have months of change ahead of you. Often it can be equally as hard to get back on the straight and narrow after falling of the rails a little bit, it is hard to find the motivation and willpower to commit to a better you.

Now you are probably a little confused, wondering what on earth I am blabbing on about, but here is a new technique I found useful when it comes to changing your life, one little step at a time: Pledge a Week.

My idea behind Pledge a Week came recently after I had been struggling to eat as healthily and as consistently as I should and as I have done in the past. It was taking me an awfully long time to move away from my ‘holiday’ diet, where I had indulgences more frequently and was less strict on myself eating necessarily nourishing foods. But I knew I needed to get back to where I was last year, eating healthily and making the right decisions about food, so I made a pledge to eat well for just one week. I figured one week was not too long, was achievable and would hopefully give me the motivation to keep going. And so I started, on a Tuesday, and I made sure the first day I was particularly mindful of the foods I ate. By the end of the day I felt great! And it had only been one day! I continued my pledge until Friday, where I slipped a little, but for those four days I had more energy, felt lighter and generally better than I had for a while. I also noticed the bloating, that automatically comes when I eat too much or foods that I know don’t sit well with me, had disappeared and my flat, un-bloated stomach had returned and I loved it! Pledge a Week made me realise I still had the willpower to eat healthily and I could see the benefits in my body that gave me motivation to keep going.

So, if you have something you want to change, try to Pledge a Week to yourself, to do it everyday for a week.

What are you going to Pledge a Week to do?

Keep healthy, happy, Erica xx

Leave a Reply

