So We Survived the End of the World…And Merry Christmas!

WE SURVIVED! Not that I was ever really a believer, but the Mayans were pretty smart people and I am happy that the world is still around for the time being. Anyway, firstly I must apologise for the total lack of posts in the last two weeks. Between the lead up to Christmas, packing up and going home for the holidays, enjoying summer and having my laptop taken away by the school for the break (sob!) I haven’t been the most diligent blogger. Instead I have been using my first ever yoga mat (all mine), making smoothies and generally relaxing after the stress of exams. My normally rigid routine has gone out the window with the holiday season, but I haven’t lapsed completely. Instead of Bikram I have been doing yoga in my lounge room, instead of running I have been swimming and diving. Unfortunately there is no yoga studio in my home town, so until I return to school next year it is up to me to exercise, and I am not always the most motivated person. But back to the idea of this post, the end of the world.

If you were a believer, did you make the most of what you believed were your last days on Earth. Perhaps this should be a reminder to us all to live in the present, take each day as it comes and to be mindful. We can’t predict the future and we can’t change the past so really the present is all we have and all we can control. I try to live each day as if it was my last, but I am sure you have all experienced times of stress and hurry when you are constantly thinking about what is next on your to do list, instead of taking a few deep breaths and living in the moment. And what if it was your last day, what would you do? Would you spend time with loved ones or alone with your thoughts, would you eat your favourite meal or nourish your body with the best you can give it? At the end of the day (forgive my pun) we should all appreciate every single day as we can never truly known how long we have left. Although I am sure we would all like to live to 100, there are many obstacles and unforseen roadblocks that may stop us from reaching our goal. Life is complex, life is beautiful and life is to be cherished each and every moment.

And now onto one very important matter, Merry Christmas to all my wonderful followers, readers and visiters!! It is indeed a few days late, but I hope your day was filled with joy, love and not to much bad food! Of course, we are still in the midst of the crazy holiday season, with New Years Eve being the next big event on the calendar. So until I post again, live each day like it’s your last and have a Happy New Year and may 2013 (which we weren’t entirely sure would ever come) be another Berry, Berry Happy year for you!

Much love and well wishes, Erica :) xx

Leave a Reply

