Eggs & Baking

Having recently discovered I have a high intolerance to eggs (via a food sensitivity blood test), I have had to adjust some baking methods so that I can still make yummy treats, but egg free. I have to say I am finding eggs hard to avoid, as they are used in nearly all gluten free recipes to help bind ingredients together and it means I have to forgo beautiful scrambled egg breakfasts and quiches, which I love. However, my baking has been quite successful and I so I am going to share with you a few ways to replace eggs in your baking, if you happen to have the same fate as me!

Vinegar: this one is an old one that my mum told me many years ago, for every egg in the recipe substitute 1 Tsp. white vinegar. This works quite well as long as there isn’t too many eggs and plenty of other ingredients.

Chia seeds: a great healthy option full of good omega-3s and what not, simply mix 1 Tsp. chia seeds (ground in the blender if you prefer) with 3 Tsp. water to replace one egg. Mix until it forms a gel and then add to baking.

Psyllium Husks: similar to chia seeds, this health food product mixes with water to produce a great egg substitute that is also full of fibre and a better colour than black chia seeds (if you don’t want little black dots all through your cake, but I don’t mind them!). For 1 egg, mix 1 Tsp. psyllium husk with 2 Tsp. water until it gels together.

Flaxseeds/flaxseed meal: Again, like psyllium husk, flaxseeds are mixed with water as an egg substitute. For ground flaxseeds or flaxseed meal use a ratio of 1 Tsp. flaxseed meal to 3 Tsp. water, or, for whole flaxseeds, 1 Tsp. flaxseeds to 4 Tsp. water.

Unfortunately of course none of these can replace eggs in scrambled eggs, but oh well!

Happy baking and stay healthy :)

 

Thanks to these great sites for the info:

http://www.care2.com/greenliving/flaxseed-egg-substitute.html

http://www.veganbaking.net/component/content/article/57-recipes/eggless-binders/208-chia-seed-binder.html

 

3 thoughts on “Eggs & Baking

Leave a Reply

