My Food Pyramid

I decided in an attempt to get my food priorities straight I would make my very own food pyramid. Those of you who are familiar with the traditional food pyramid will know that is based on a diet high in bread, pasta, cereals and all other things made with wheat and grains, not exactly gluten free. Through much reading and investigating (which continues) to this day I have created my own kind of food philosophy which I believe is well rounded and balanced without being too restrictive. My food pyramid is structured much the same as the original, except I have essentially rearranged the food groups.Β 

Here is a brief explanation of my food pyramid:

  • Unlimited: dark, leafy greens. Full of amazing antioxidants and cancer fighting properties I truly believe you can never have enough of these. Examples are kale, silver beet, spinach and broccoli.
  • Every meal: fruit and vegetables, but really I mean vegetables and fruit. A wide variety of all vegetables should be enjoyed daily and in generous quantities, with fruit also for a sweet hit. If sugar is of concern fruit shouldn’t be consumed in great amounts due to the naturally occurring fructose (sigh, I too am a fruit LOVER).
  • Daily: seeds, nuts, legumes and healthy grains such as quinoa, brown rice and amaranth. These are contain an abundance of vitamins and minerals, as well as healthy, complex carbohydrates that our body needs for energy. All also contain a great deal of fibre, which is important for a healthy digestive tract. I would also place superfoods in this category.
  • Enjoyed moderately: lean protein, animal fats as well as eggs and dairy should be part of any balanced diet. Animal fats such as those in fish are good for the absorption of vitamins and minerals from vegetables. All dairy should be organic, full fat and unprocessed, however if you suffer from lactose intolerance or allergies of course substitute quality organic almond, rice or any other milk you prefer. Vegetarians can enjoy fermented soy products such as tempeh.
  • Very rarely or never: the big no no’s in my book; gluten, sugar, processed, refined, packaged, artificial, fake, flavoured or chemically foods that don’t resemble any real foods at all. Also, trans fatty deep fried foods and junk food.
  • Of course in addition to this balanced diet, water should be consumed regularly and freely, as should teas. Exercise should also be an essential daily occurrence.

What do you think of my food pyramid? Does it somewhat resemble yours?

Keep healthy :)

2 thoughts on “My Food Pyramid

  1. andrew says:

    very good food combination looks really balanced, i am also loving balanced approach to life, opposites in balance compliment each other and from my life experience all extremes are unhealthy in every aspect of life

    keep it natural, positive and balanced ;)

    greetings

    andrew

Leave a Reply

