Acceptance Can Be the Hardest Thing…

The things I value most highly in the world are positivity, life and acceptance. I find positivity essential, but it doesn’t always come easy, I find life amazing all of the time, but acceptance is still a struggle. Accepting who I am and realising that I probably won’t ever fit the mould of everyone else’s idea of perfection.

Finding a balance between self-improvement and self-acceptance is probably an ongoing, life long thing. You must always try to keep yourself in good health and in good shape, but there is certainly a point where you don’t want to fall overboard into the trap of chasing perfection around in circles like a dog chases it’s tail. Acceptance is about realising the things about you that are the core of who you are and what makes you unique, and then learning to love everything about that. Easier said than done, I know!

Accepting other people can also be hard, it’s hard to accept people with different opinions to your own, it’s hard to accept people for who they are when there is something about them that rubs you the wrong way. It’s hard not to want to improve other people or try to control others, especially when there is a problem that needs fixing. One of the hardest things to accept, I find, is that it’s their life and I mustn’t try to force my own ideas upon others or fix things for them, that’s their domain.

Finally, it’s always hard to learn to accept the things you can’t control. There are so many things that we can’t control, can’t predict and can’t be certain of and it makes life hard sometimes. Things you can control are your actions, your choices, your thoughts and your attitude, that’s a pretty good place to start! My mum and dad taught me the serenity prayer, and even though I am not religious, I find it sums up in a few words how to accept, make peace and live a better life.

“God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can and the wisdom to know the difference.”

That’s all for today! Keep happy and positive :)

Leave a Reply

