Berry, berry delicious! Thanks Kate :)

Coconut + Chocolate Mud Cake a la FF&K

coconut + chocolate mud cake

Berry, berry delicious! Thanks Kate :)

I am a complete and utter fan of the beautiful blog by Kate Olsson Finger, Fork & Knife. So when Kate commented on my little known blog I practically jumped out of my chair with excitement! Having only discovered the world of blogging a few months ago I regularly visit FF&K to admire the wonderful and healthy creations.So, when my family and I hosted a dinner party and I was made responsible for dessert I knew exactly what I was going to bake, the Coconut + Chocolate Mud Cake from Finger, Fork & Knife. Check out the recipe here.

Because it was a dinner party for ‘normal’ people (meaning not gluten or sugar free), I made a few changes, opting to use icing sugar instead of avocado and about 50/50 dark chocolate and Toblerone! Naughty, I know, but the result was still pretty spectacular. I topped with berries and desiccated coconut. Everyone was very impressed and complimented the cake endlessly and I have to say it was one of the best gluten free desserts I have ever tasted.

I found the picture I took of the cake and in keeping my promise, I am sharing it with you. This is solid proof that going gluten and sugar free is not the end of enjoyment (in fact healthy food is my main source of enjoyment) or your social life. I will endeavour to in the future to bake it again, the complete healthy version, avocado icing and all!

Enjoy and keep healthy :)

 

Leave a Reply

