Inspired by Louise Hay

LOVE YOURSELF

I was watching the new Food Matters documentary yesterday, OMG! It’s a must watch by the way. But that’s not what this post is about. In the documentary there was a section about self-love and the amazing healing and therapeutic powers it can have. They touched on the first resolution and probably the most powerful resolution of Louise Hay; “I appreciate myself for who I am RIGHT now.”Β 

In the documentary they explained how people who repeat affirmations to themselves, after long enough it becomes the truth and they start to view themselves in a different light. I starting using affirmations about 6 months ago and it is truly amazing how powerful and effective they are. I started with really basic ones, but those that rebutted my most common negative thoughts such as: “I am beautiful” “I am unique” “I am loved and appreciated by others” and “I am an amazing person”. At first I felt a bit stupid repeating these to myself, but I made a point of doing it every time a negative thought decided to wander into my brain. I found it especially useful to say the affirmations when looking in a mirror, because then it felt like I was actually telling my reflection as opposed to some imaginary voice in my head.

Anyway, after being reminded of Louise Hay in the filmΒ I took it on as motivation and inspiration for my three new resolutions, they are (in this order):

  1. “I accept myself for who I am right now.”
  2. “I appreciate myself for who I am right now.”
  3. “I LOVE myself for who I am right now.”

Using these three affirmations I hope to truly begin to love myself in the greatest capacity that I can, whilst retaining the newfound appreciation and positivity I gained from my first round of affirmations.

I can recall one of the greatest epiphanies I had after beginning my affirmations was when I read about the idea of being your own friend. The theory goes a bit like this: we all love and adore our friends unconditionally, we see all the goodness and beauty they possess and rarely find any flaws in them. We compliment them and cherish them and in being a good friend we NEVER say anything negative to our friend that would hurt or upset them unnecessarily. So, why then do you treat yourself like absolute crap?!?! What good is that going to do to your self esteem and confidence…It will probably be the similar to if you stood by and abused all your friends all of the time, they would be sad and lonely. So be your best friend, be kind to yourself, compliment yourself and choose to see the beauty and goodness, instead of only the flaws.

Keep smiling! :)

5 thoughts on “Inspired by Louise Hay

  1. candycoatedreality says:

    Love your post!! Louise Hay is genius. I’ve downloaded her 101 Power Thoughts audio and listen on my iPhone on my 6 city block walk into work. Talk about a WONDERFUL way to start your day!! Wishing you continued success **smile**

    • ericam95 says:

      Thank you very much! I find it so exciting to receive such lovely comments and even more exciting to find other people interested in the things I love. I will have to find the audio of Louise Hay and listen to it, sounds AMAZING :) thanks again!

  2. Mollie Player says:

    Love the positivity! Do you have any “power of positive thinking” stories you’d like to share on my blog? (Links and credit given, of course.) Let me know! You can also email me at mollie at mollieplayer.com.

Leave a Reply

