DIY Muesli

Bowl of muesli

In my daze of random thoughts yesterday I came up with a new thing I really want to try: DIY muesli! I am a big fan of muesli, however being gluten and sugar free means I can’t eat the regular stuff that you buy at the supermarket. I have tried a few gluten-free mueslis but I found them a bit plain; they would either be bulked up with lots of dried fruit (a no, no for a sugar free lifestyle), or lacking in flavour, because lets face it puffed rice is not the most flavoursome thing out!

Anyway, I know there is a few online sites where you can create your own muesli and they make it and send it to you, such as Mix my Muesli and Muesli Mixer. I checked out these sites for inspiration, as they are both cool and easy to use. It would definitely be a service I would like to try in the future. Also, both sites have a good range of gluten free bases for your muesli. But then I got to thinking how much fun it would be to make my own muesli from scratch, and let’s face it, it will be cheaper than ordering it online.

My dream muesli which I am going to make would include:

  • Gluten-free muesli base
  • Goji berries (who doesn’t love these delicious superfood berries?)
  • Pepitas (pumpkin seeds, full of lots of important vitamins and minerals)
  • Chia seeds
  • Sunflower seeds
  • Dried apricots, sultanas, blueberries (just a little bit for some sweetness)
  • Coconut flakes
  • Almonds
  • Macadamias
  • Cashews
  • Raw cacao (the bean they make chocolate from! I am an addict)
  • Cinnamon (I love the flavour and its great for controlling blood sugar levels)

Then I will put it in a cute little container with a scoop and eat away! I love having my muesli mixed in with natural and biodynamic yogurt which is full of good bacteria that aids digestion. Also, you could add fresh berries to the mix just before eating for extra goodness.

I can’t wait for the holidays so I can whip up this muesli creation of mine. Let me know, what would you include in your own muesli mix?

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

